A new album has been released in Ireland on the Dara label which features a selection of artists singing songs in Irish. Entitled “Éist“, the Irish word for “listen”, the album features Kate’s version of Mná na hÉireann originally recorded for Donal Lunny’s Common Ground project in 1996. Other artists include Van Morrison, Brian Kennedy, Christy Moore, Mary Black & Altan. Reported to be selling in Ireland “like hot cakes” the album was heavily promoted by Bord na Gaeilge (the body responsible for promoting usage and enjoyment of the Irish language) around the St. Patrick’s Day festivities, with TV advertising and a high profile poster campaign, Kate being mentioned in both.


Dara Records  TORTV 105 CD
[Website http://www.dolphin-dara.ie]

1 Molly na gCuachni Chuilleanain – Altan
2 Ar Bhruach na Carraige Baine – Seamus Begley & Mary Black*
3 Ta mo Chleamhnas Deanta – Van Morrison & The Chieftains
4 Eist a Stor – Brian Kennedy & Maire Bhreatnach*
5 Aisling Ghear – Maura O’Connell*
6 Seanchas – Clannad
7 Jimmy mo Mhile Stor – Frances Black*
8 Gleanntain Ghlas Ghaoth Dobhair – Paul Brady*
9 Eist do Bheal – Sinead Lohan*
10 Mo Ghille Mear – Mary Black*
11 Seachtain – John Spillane
12 An Cailin Gaelach – Maighread ni Dhomhnaill
13 Mna na hEireann – Kate Bush
14 Na Conghailigh – Christy Moore

* Denotes previously unreleased songs

On Friday March 19th, Éist was deemed Album Of The Week by The Irish Times, read their review here:http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/features/1999/0319/fea5.htm, and notice the strangely bad/great review Kate gets!

All details on Kate’s stunning track can be read at my page here.

Note: This is the first time both the Irish & English lyrics of Mna na hEireann have been included in a CD package.
Thanks to Jane Sagr and Fearghus McSweeney for help with this item.