The Chicago based independent record label Brown Star Records have given me more details about the upcoming Kate Bush Tribute Album. The album is officially titled:

“I WANNA BE KATE: The Songs Of Kate Bush”

There are a total of 17 tracks on the CD (which is running at a generous 74-78 minutes) taken from all of Kate’s seven studio albums and the following is the final running order:

  • L’Amour Looks Something Like You by The Aluminum Group
  • The Sensual World by Susan Voelz
  • Hounds Of Love by The Moviegoers
  • The Man With The Child In His Eyes by Syd Straw
  • There Goes A Tenner by The J Davis Trio
  • The Saxophone Song by Nora O’Connor
  • You’re The One by Justin Roberts
  • Coffee Homeground by Mouse
  • Jig Of Life by Catherine Smitko
  • The Kick Inside by Victoria Storm
  • Running Up That Hill by The Baltimores
  • Home For Christmas by Diamond Jim Greene
  • Suspended In Gaffa by My Scarlet Life
  • Kashka From Baghdad/Babooshka by The Plunging Necklines
  • Love And Anger by Trinkets Of Joy
  • And Dream Of Sheep by Thomas Negovan
  • Not This Time by Tom Dunning & Your Boyfriends

All the musicians are very active in the vibrant Chicago music scene. The most prominent participant is probably Syd Straw (Mercury recording artist), who’s debut album “Surprise” featured Michael Stipe of REM among others. She formerly sang vocals for the Golden Palominos and she has also acted for television including Tales Of The City. Another track of note is Coffee Homeground, produced and recorded by Bob Weston, the man who engineered Nirvana’s IN UTERO album and a member of Steve Albini’s band Shellac. The executive producer, Thomas Dunning, informs me that the album is currently at the mastering stage. At the moment a June release is looking likely. You will all be able to read much more about the making of this record in Part Two of the interview with Thomas Dunning on my website coming soon…..for now you can read part one here.